Executive Council

The SEARCC Executive Council consists of presidents or representatives of member organisations.

The supreme authority of SEARCC is vested in the Executive Council of SEARCC.
The Executive Council meets twice a year. At least one of these meetings is in the country in which the forthcoming regional conference will be held.

The President of SEARCC is elected at the end of each SEARCC Conference and serves in that role until the end of the next SEARCC Conference.



Dr Nick Tate

Dr. Dr Nick Tate is Managing Director of Haroldton Associates, a Director of Northtate Pty Ltd and an Adjunct Professor at the University of Queensland (UQ). He is also a National Board Member and Past President of the Australian Computer Society (ACS), Chair of ACS Queensland and Chair of the Council of ICT Associations (CICTA). He is a Company Director with 16 years’ experience on the boards of both Australian and US companies and is both the founding Director of the ACS Future Leaders Institute (FLI) and a founding faculty member of the African Leadership Institute (ALI).
Dr Tate has over 40 years’ experience in the field of Information Technology including 16 years as a CIO/IT Director at two London banks and at UQ, in Australia. He has worked in the UK, Europe, Middle East, North America and Australia and his career has included 20 years with investment/commercial banks including 18 years in London and 2 years at Macquarie Bank in Sydney where he had responsibility for Global IT infrastructure.
He has most recently directed the Australian Government funded Research Data Storage Infrastructure (RDSI) project, which developed and deployed one of the largest data clouds in Australia, to store research data from universities and other research groups. The project addressed the significant technical, legal and contractual challenges involved in operating at very large scale.
Whilst Head of IT at the United Bank of Kuwait (UBK) in London, he was part of the senior management team that dealt with the crisis caused by the invasion of Kuwait in the first Gulf War, when there was a run on the bank and an abolition of the bank’s currency of account.
From 1999 to 2010, Dr Tate directed the Australian Computer Emergency Response Team (AusCERT), which responded to ICT Security incidents and was the national CERT for Australia. In 2010, he chaired the World Computer Congress and, during 2012/2013, he was National President of the Australian Computer Society (ACS) when he also wrote a column on IT for the Australian newspaper.
Dr Tate holds a Bachelor’s degree in Physics from the University of St. Andrews in Scotland, a Master’s degree in Computer Science and a PhD in IT cybersecurity. He is also a Chartered Engineer, a Chartered IT Professional, a Fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society and a Fellow of the ACS.

Secretary General

Mr. Yohan Ramasundara

yohan-ramasundaraYohan Ramasundara has over fifteen years of experience in managing and leading teams working in high-performing private, public and voluntary sectors. A graduate of University of Canberra, with Information Communication Technology (ICT), accounting and finance qualifications, he now focuses his passion for business resilience and risk management at the Australian Federal Government agency administering intellectual property rights. Previously he was the National Manger of Assurance Services at Ecowise Environmental, Australia’s then largest provider of integrated environmental consulting services.Yohan is also the National Treasurer of the Australian Computer Society (ACS). As a member of various organisations and committees, Yohan has volunteered thousands of hours implementing various local, regional and global initiatives for the advancement of ICT profession. Yohan was highly commended in the 2007 Young Professional of the Year Award from Professions Australia, recognising his contribution to the Australian ICT industry. He is also the recipient of the prestigious gold leadership award at the 2005 Blues & Leadership awards for his sporting achievements. On weekends in summer he can be found in his penguin outfit, umpiring Cricket. Yohan is currently writing a children’s story book. The book is expected to be released in 2017. Yohan lives in Canberra, Australia.

Email: sg@searcc.org

Mob:   +61 414 672 161



Past Presidents

2014-15       Dayan Rajapakse (Sri Lanka) [2014 December - 2015 October 2015]

2013-14       Ajith Salgado (Sri Lanka) [2014 May - 2014 December]

2013-14       Mahesh Perera (Sri Lanka) [2013 October - 2014 May]

2012-13       Nick Tate (Australia)

2011-12       Satish Babu (India) [2012 April - 2012 October]

2011-12       M D Agrawal (India) [2011 December - 2012 March]

2010-11      Anthony Wong (Australia)

2008-10     Krishan K. Aggarwal (India)

2007-08     Prof Srisakdi Charmonman (Thailand)

2006-07     Dinesh Sattrukalsinghe (Sri Lanka)

2005-06     Richard Hogg (Australia)

2004-05     Dr Raja Malik Mohamed (Malaysia)

2001-03     Ms  Gillian Reid (New Zealand)

2000-01     Gus Lagman (Philippines)

99-2000     Alex Siow (Singapore)

1998-99     Prins Ralston (Australia)

1997-98     S.Ramani (India)

1996-97     Thavisakdi Thangsuphanich (Thailand)

1995-96     Yasa Karunaratne (Sri Lanka)

1994-95     Ahmed Allauddin (Pakistan)

1993-94     K.T.Yung (Hong Kong)

1992-93     Prof Lee Poh Aun (Malaysia)

1991-92     Jafar Basri (Indonisia )

1990-91     Ms C Octaviano (Philippines)

1989-90     Wee Tew Lim (Singapore)

1988-89     F.C.Kohli  (India)

1986-88     Dr  B. Binson (Thailand)

1984-86     Richard Li (Hong Kong)


Past Secretary Generals

2002 – 2012    Yasa Karunaratne (Sri Lanka)

1978 – 2002   Robert Iau (Singapore)

Current Poll

No poll available